Heavy duty AC to DC converter required

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
Post Reply
mche1997
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:36 pm

Heavy duty AC to DC converter required

Post by mche1997 » Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:37 pm

HI All
I'm looking to see if anyone can supply me or make me with an AC to DC converter ?
I had basically searched through the internet and electronics and electrical suppliers looking for a minimum of 16 amp converter from 240vac to 300 or over vdc. It is for running a DC hydrogen generator.

Thanks everyone

David
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 6:18 pm

Re: Heavy duty AC to DC converter required

Post by David » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:42 am

300V DC at 16A is 16 X 300 = 4,800 Watts. The maximum output from a standard 3-pin 13A socket is 13 X 240 = 3,120 Watts. You would be trying to draw more than could be supplied, even if you ignored losses in the converter.
You will need to get in touch with your electricity supplier or contractor for either up rated sockets and wiring, etc., or think about having a 3-phase supply installed.

mche1997
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: Heavy duty AC to DC converter required

Post by mche1997 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:43 pm

Thanks David, It works fine when it was running at 270VDC from a bridge rectifier, had it running for 40 minutes several times. It doesn't run at 4800w but just in case it ever goes near to that wattage. I could only get one from the US capable of converting up to 600vdc but preferably from UK or the EU but I don't want to use a variac transformer as its too heavy and bulky.

mche1997
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:36 pm

Re: Heavy duty AC to DC converter required

Post by mche1997 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:11 pm

This is the type of converter I'm looking for but not available in the UK.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-500W-0-300 ... 2107145711

David
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 6:18 pm

Re: Heavy duty AC to DC converter required

Post by David » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:39 am

I am rather confused by your reply. Just what "works fine" at 270V DC? What current was it supplying or drawing? Are you serious in your first post of "a minimum of 16A"? However you arrange things, you will always (in a UK domestic setting) have the restriction of a maximum wattage from the mains socket.

Post Reply