Corded to cordless

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
Stew

Corded to cordless

Post by Stew » Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:20 pm

Hello.
I know very little of electronics, if anything, which I'm sure will become obvious but thought it worth stopping by and asking my question regardless.
I'm a carpenter and joiner. One of my routers had a little accident recently which means I'm looking at replacing it's electronics module as a result. This isn't the problem - it's very straightforward in fact - but as I had the tool apart in front of me, I wondered whether it might be a candidate for a cordless conversion. I've done this with other tools - for example, I had a bushing made that allowed me to fit the head of my biscuit jointer to my cordless angle grinder. Very handy.
The router though is a 230v 1600w beastie. The brand I mostly use recently released a new 18v battery capable of delivering 90amps (I've seen someone on YT test it at a sustained 100amps/18v for 3+ minutes). In theory then, this new battery, which I have, could run my router - dependent on converting the 18v DC to 230v AC of course.
After a mornings research I've found what appears to be a glaring problem - the transformer. It looks to me like this kind of current would require some hefty winding.
I had hoped it might be done with more discrete, clever electronics but I fear I already know the answer is no. Am I right? Is there a discrete circuit option to convert the 18v, 90amp DC battery input to 230v, 1600w AC?
Any response is greatly received even it's just to confirm it can't be done without a hefty lump of winding and I'm mad to think it were possible.

David

Re: Corded to cordless

Post by David » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:03 pm

I think you are being ambitious (to say the least) to try to power a 1600 W machine from an 18v, 90A battery, even though the wattage output (18V X 90A) is apparently sufficient.