IR light detector Alarm - help needed

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
piscesguy

IR light detector Alarm - help needed

Post by piscesguy » Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:55 pm

I am trying to create a pulsed IR light detector alarm. I have experimented with a few circuits and want to try to modify a commonly available circuit for the project. I have built a circuit based on the attached diagram. The circuit works very well but only detects 'dc' light. i.e. it doesn't detect my pulsed IR led (125Hz). I have substituted the phototransistor with an infrared photodiode coupled to a bc109 transistor.

my question is can this circuit be modified to block 'dc' light (say with a capacitor) and use the pulsed AC output of the photodiode/transistor combo to activate the alarm? I hope you understand my explaination.

I am a novice at this but enjoying learning, i just need a few pointers to help me.

################
piscesguy
################

piscesguy

Re: IR light detector Alarm - help needed

Post by piscesguy » Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:41 pm

piscesguy wrote:it doesn't detect my pulsed IR led (125Hz).
It does detect the pulsed IR i've re-tested it! but I still need to block 'dc' light signals from acivating the alarm.

Can any one explain how to do this?

#####################
piscsesguy
#####################

Simon (Webmaster)
Site Admin

Post by Simon (Webmaster) » Fri Aug 29, 2008 6:08 pm

Hi

As you say, I think a capacitor should work to block constant light signals from the circuit and only allow pulses through. Try a small (0.01uF?) capacitor in series with the base connection of Q1. You might need a pull down resistor (100k?) from the Q1 side of the new capacitor to ground (negative side of battery).