New beginner also new to Web sit

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
Tiny-James

New beginner also new to Web sit

Post by Tiny-James » Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:46 am

Hello thank you for adding me to your website.
I'm a total newbie to the world of electronics.

I am building a inmoov robot head. I have a good support system for this project But I have decided to build a Oscilloscope DSO 138 in kit form to practise my soldering skills.

I do have the following tools

Bench power supply
Multimeter
Adjustable soldering iron
PCB holder also many hand tools

The Oscilloscope is in component form and I'm having trouble identifying my resistors, with the help of my phone (photos) I can see the colour band BUT using the Multimeter to double check the resistor OHMS is proving harder than I thought my meter has five ohms settings

2m
200 ohms I think that is correct it just has 200 printed on the meter

Any way a bit about me I'm 55 years young and wondering if I to old to start a hobby in AI & electronics as I know next to nothing about either, but I'm shielding and so so board. I don't work as I have too many disability

James

David

Re: New beginner also new to Web sit

Post by David » Mon Oct 18, 2021 4:05 pm

Hello.
Congrats to start a new hobby at 55! Electronics is one that can be interesting for the rest of your life. Please don't buy rubbish parts and materials. That is the quickest way to get disinterested!

Meters usually have a scale of tens of ohms like this:
up to 200 (200 ohms)
up to 2K (2,000 ohms)
up to 20K (20,000 ohms)
up to 200K (200,000 ohms)
up to 2M (2,000,000 ohms)
You might see scales in ranges of 100s, and so on - especially in old time analogue meters. Some of the old meters (such as the AVO) were truly beautiful.