Assistance reading a schematic

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
Thomaswilliamrogers

Assistance reading a schematic

Post by Thomaswilliamrogers » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:18 am

Morning

I am a total novice at reading schematics although I understand the concept to a basic degree. I’d like to build my own guitar effects pedal and have seen a couple of schematics. I generally understand the required components however I have seen on several schematics reference to pins with a voltage of 9V and 4V5, whilst there is also a battery and power connection.

Links below to the schematics where this occurs.

My question is what do I do with the pins with the noted voltage, is it simply a case of connecting them together and they will therefore each receive the required voltage from another part of the circuit, or do they require an additional power supply.

Example 1:
https://goo.gl/images/bxpGLL You can see that there are 3 locations where the above occurs

Example 2:
https://goo.gl/images/T9yBtb In this example the same occurs but with 2.4V and 4.8V

Any guidance (put simply) would be appreciated to help me work out how I put this together.

My intention is to etch my own PCB.

Thanks
Tom

David

Re: Assistance reading a schematic

Post by David » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:34 pm

Hello
You are correct - all the 9v, 4,5v points and similarly with 4.8 and 2.4v on the second schematic should be connected together. If you are making your own PCB, be warned - not all of the essential connections may be shown on the diagram - some will be taken for granted. For example on the first schematic, no power connections are shown for U1 and U2; the +ve power should be connected to 9v (pin 4), and the -ve power to earth (pin 7) also, the common connection of D8, C17, R32, C16 and the power con(nector) should also be grounded. These are shown correctly on the second diagram.