Help recording low frequency sound

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
TrickyNicky

Help recording low frequency sound

Post by TrickyNicky » Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:36 pm

Hi everyone. I found this forum as I am looking for some help and wondered if you might have some ideas for me. Forgive me, I have no knowledge of electronics so these may be stupid questions. I have a young dog who is terrified of wind turbines. This is not a visual problem but seems to be related to a sound I cannot hear, maybe low frequency noise. The sound can travel many miles depending on the wind direction. If it is bad enough, she just runs off and heads for woodland where she clearly is less affected. She has a similar problem travelling in cars and I suspect it is again an engine sound she hears that I cannot. I have a few things I wish to try to help her.
1. I need to record the sound she hears (wind turbine and car noise) and play it back to her very quietly and over weeks, gradually increasing the volume to try and de-sensitize her. Any suggestions of how I can do this please?
2. I need something like a bat detector that changes the sound she hears into a sound I can hear so I know when she is being affected.
3. Would it be possible to cancel out the sound she hears using 'white noise'? Maybe using a CD in the car and develop something to she can wear on her collar or maybe earphones for when out walking.
I am conscious I am writing this on 1st April. This is not an April Fool. We have tried so many things to help her that have not worked so I am now looking 'outside the box' to come up with alternatives. I'm sure I am not the only person with a dog like this so the solutions could help others, not just me. If this is not the right place to post the query, perhaps someone could suggest a place I can go to get some answers. I am grateful for any help. Thank you.

David

Re: Help recording low frequency sound