New here, need help please.

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
Daz69

New here, need help please.

Post by Daz69 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:45 pm

Evening all.

My first post here, so Hi to you all.
I need a little help if you can? I've done a few small electronic projects over the years, but I am not experienced, more of a "tinkerer with stuff".
I've made a magnetic stirrer for mixing my own E-liquid for vaping. These stirrers are readily available for around £100+, however I've seen quite a few on YouTube where others have made their own. However, most of these just use a switch, potentiometer and the fan. However there are a couple that use the LM317T regulator, and from what I read it takes a lot of heat from what would just be suffered by the potentiometer. So, from this I found some schematic diagrams using the LM317T which I followed.

The parts used are:

12v LED rocker switch
1k ohm linear potentiometer
LM317T 1.5A 3 Terminal Adjustable Voltage Regulator
0.1uf 330 ohm Tantulam cap.
1uf Eleectrolytic cap
330 ohm resistor
12v 550Mah computer fan.

I'm using a 12v 500Mah power adaptor to power it.

It's wired as thus: From the switch, the live and ground have the 0.1uf cap across them. The ground goes to the middle terminal of the pot, and the live goes to V-IN on the chip. The left terminal of the pot goes to the 330 ohm resistor and to the ADJ on the chip.
The V-OUT has the remaining leg of the 330 ohm resistor, and heads off to the live terminal of the fan. There is a 1uf cap across the live and ground of the fan wires. The fan ground goes to common ground.
The problem I have, is that there is only 5.5v going to the fan, and the pot only works on the last half of it's rotation.