Total novice seeks help!

Need help with a project? Trying to find a component? Post any general technical questions here.
polperrobrian

Total novice seeks help!

Post by polperrobrian » Sat May 28, 2016 12:29 am

I know little to nothing about electronics but need help with an idea from some patient person who has time! I want to make small self contained stained glass garden lights that give more light and lasts longer than the standard cheap garden lights available. I'm hoping it might be a simple project that I can learn to make myself at low cost. I hope I am not asking too much?

Biffo

Re: Total novice seeks help!

Post by Biffo » Mon May 30, 2016 10:47 am

Usually the problem with cheap garden lights is the battery..the battery is probably the most expensive part to produce and therefore in budget lights they are of the lowest grade.Usually the rest of the electronics is reliable.
So you can still keep buying budget lights that you like, but as a novice you might like the challenge of opening them up, getting the specs and replacing the batteries from ones from reputable suppliers such as http://www.budgetbatteries.co.uk/ (if your in the UK)

glassman

Post by glassman » Wed Jun 22, 2016 8:50 am

Thanks for taking the time to reply Biffo - I appreciate it.

I have already been inside and as you might guess there is very little similarity to a Rolls Royce! There is indeed a battery there and I am quite sure that is the place to start.

Now demonstrating my TOTAL lack of knowledge - can I replace that with a NiMh cell - would the photo voltaic panel charge that? The mechanics of all this are easy enough for me but I am out of my depth theory wise!

On a more general note - I would be happy to try to learn something and have tried in the past but any books I look at go instantly over my head. I am 70 and learning is slower for me these days but can anybody suggest a good way to get started. My ambitions are not great but I just hate being quite so dumb!